Starting Over

It’s the start of the new year! I’ve been gone for a while but I’m so excited to share with you all the new changes I’ve been up to these past few weeks. 2016 was a pretty difficult year for me. Transitioning from being a recent college graduate to running my own business wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be. When I graduated, in my mind I had everything figured out, so I thought. I was so excited about embarking on a new journey after college doing what I had always dreamt of, I figured it would be nothing to book people in an instant and then it would be smooth sailing from there. Man how I was wrong.

I faced a lot of disappointments in 2016. Opportunities that looked promising kept falling through, people who claim to love my work would inquire about my services for family, couples, or other portrait services but would never get back to me, and so many other things happened that I’m not going to go into detail about for the sake of the length of the post. But, basically I got tired of entertaining the idea and hoping that people would start acting on their word to the point where I actually thought about throwing in the towel and walking away from it all.

I figured I’d settle for a job or career that I really had no true interest in and let it be that. That’s what I was doing anyway with all of the previous jobs I had taken, settling. But, I couldn’t quit. Not because of how much time, money, gas, etc. I had invested but because I wasn’t raised to be a quitter and I knew there were more purposeful things for me to do than what I was allowing myself to do.

I decided to reevaluate my goals and the direction I wanted my business to take. Who exactly I wanted my target audience to be and why. As much fun as it would be to shoot family, couple, weddings, or children sessions etc. I’ve come to realize that those type of photography genres aren’t for me. Which is why I’m grateful for all of the opportunities that didn’t work out because those failed opportunities led me to finding what I truly enjoy doing the most. Working with other creatives and small business owners in product/brand photography helping them to achieve their goals and dreams through building an aesthetically appealing brand.

Helping people and encouraging people is like second nature to me. I would even go as far to say it’s my gift. Being able to see others succeed is fulfilling to me. Which is what brought me to where I am now, serving others the best way I know how. I want to help others like myself succeed in their business and that’s what I am dedicated in doing..

2016 may have been a difficult one but it was a necessary one. If it wasn’t for my relationship with God, my best friend fussing at me when I told her I was going to give it up, and my closest family continuously encouraging me, I don’t know what I would have done.

Here’s to a new year and starting over!


Be sure to check back each week for a new post. I’ll be sharing things from, books I’m reading, recipes I want to try, things that inspire me, social media tips, photography, branding tips and so much more!

Leave a Reply

