Jump: My 2017 Word of the Year

20170108-dsc_7502-3

Being an entrepreneur has its moments where it can be exciting, scary, and confusing all at the same time. There’s always that big fat annoying phrase ” What If”, that seems to always linger in the back of our minds. What if it doesn’t work? What if I fail? What if, what if, what if. Well sometimes we have to shut those what if’s down as soon as we notice them starting to creep their way into our thoughts.

I’m a true believer in speaking life over myself and into every situation of my life. Proverbs 18:21 says, ” Death an life are in the power of the tongue: and they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof.” Words are powerful. They can either build or tear down so I always try to be careful about what I say about myself or allow others to say about me (Don’t bring that negativity around me lol). Am I perfect at it? No. I get discouraged at times too just like anyone else. The difference is, I know where my help comes from and I’m secure in not only who I am but, I’m secure in who God is and says I am. In those “what if” moments, I remind myself of those things out loud. When I do that, I feel refreshed, refueled, and renewed. Sometimes it helps to just encourage yourself.

Having a word for 2017 never crossed my mind until maybe one or two weeks before Christmas. I was on my way to work and while driving, I like to listen to talk shows in the morning. This particular talk show was the Steve Harvey Morning Show. As I was driving and listening, Steve Harvey was talking about his new book “Jump”. I found his story to be very inspiring because, even though he faced huge adversities in his life before he made it to where he is now, he didn’t allow his circumstances to keep him from following his dreams. Instead, he “jumped” until he had his big break.

So, my word for 2017 is “jump”. It means, to take a leap of faith. In 2016 I took a few leaps. Now I’m ready to take even bigger leaps in 2017. Whether it’s within my career or in my personal life, I’m not leaving room for anything to keep me from what God has for me.

With that being said, I’m jumping all throughout 2017 with my confidence being in this,

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

2017 I’m jumping with purpose and I have a feeling it’s going to be one of my best years yet!

Leave a Reply

